Eric Anders And Mark O’Bitz Release New Album ‘The Loss We’ve Won’

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Independent Music Promotion*

Eric Anders and Mark O’Bitz
The Loss We’ve Won
Independent – Baggage Room Records
13 May 2022
Eric Anders and Mark O’Bitz continue a prolific catalog of albums known for their social commentary and immersive moods with new full-length offering “The Loss We’ve Won,” an album that bears the weight of existential uncertainty while turning inward to find some peace. From the haunting “Not At One” to the radiant lead single “One Life,” there is a consistently potent, timely songwriting coming from this musical partnership.

For Eric Anders, the lyricist,“the loss we’ve won” is all we’ve won in life, which then leads to all that is lost in the end–so the loss we’ve won is all that we’ve won and then have to give up in the end. There is no “winning” without “losing” if all of life (and death) is taken into consideration.”

This is a concept album that has had the working title of “family songs” from the beginning. This title was not just a reference to the second song on the album, “Family Song”: all of the songs are “Americana songs about family, marriage, parenting, getting old … and human extinction,” as Eric wrote in his blog post, “The Loss We’ve Won.” Some of the songs are directly autobiographical for Eric – “Family Song” and “Young Eyes”  especially – while the others may have some biographical elements …or none at all.

For this new collection of songs, Eric Anders and Mark O’Bitz partnered again with multi-instrumentalist and producer Mike Butler to make this 9-song album where all the songs are done in an Americana style.

“The Loss We’ve Won” reveals these expert songwriters at their most lyrically urgent, melodic and warm as they meditate on universal themes.

Listen to “The Loss We’ve Won” on Bandcamp.
Listen to “The Loss We’ve Won” on Spotify.

More Info:

released May 13, 2022
Produced and Mixed by Mike Butler
Mastered by Jamal Ruhe
All Songs Written by Eric Anders and Mark O’Bitz
Except “Not At One,” written by Eric Anders and Benedikt Bohm


Official Website

DISCOGRAPHY: title / year released

Eric Anders:

2003/Not At One
2004/Songs For Wayward Days EP
2005/More Regrets
2006/Tethered to the Ground
2011/Remains In Me EP
2016/Big World Abide: The Best of Eric Anders
2017/Eleven Nine


2018 / Of All These Things
2018 / ”Matterbloomlight” – Single
2019 / Ghosts To Ancestors
2020 / American Bardo
2020 / This Mortal Farce EP
2020 / “Careful Now My Son” – Single
2021 / Sirens Go By
2021 / “Searise” – Single
2021 / Stuck Inside
2021 / Variant Blues
2022 / “One Life”


Written by Eric Anders and Mark O’Bitz
Produced and Mixed by Mike Butler
Mastered by Jamal Ruhe 

Eric Anders – Vocals
Mark O’Bitz – Acoustic Guitar
Tim McNalley – Upright Bass, Cello
Matt Lynott – Percussions


Not At One is “One of the best CDs I’ve ever heard” – Derek Sivers, CD Baby founder

“This might have been what it was like when people heard Simon & Garfunkel for the first time.”
– Joshua Macala, Raised by Gypsies

“Eric Anders and Mark O’Bitz’s album, Of All These Things, is something truly special. Melodically, lyrically, and generally stunning… an outstanding piece of work.”
– Made Shaw, The Weekly Spoon

Artist Biography:

Northern Californian singer-songwriter, Eric Anders and southern Californian guitarist-composer, Mark O’Bitz, will release their multiple-song collection “Music in the Time of Coronavirus” in four installments.  

Their single, “Careful Now My Son”–the only truly Americana song in the collection–was released in December 2020.

The 8-song album, Sirens Go By, was released in February 2021 and contains songs done in the singer-songwriter style typical of the Anders/O’Bitz duo.  Their 11-song album, Stuck Inside, was recently released (11/9/21) and contains songs with a bit more edge–a more rockin’ style.  The 10-song album, Variant Blues, was released in December, 2021.

All of the songs for this collection were written and recorded during the pandemic and all of the work so far has been done remotely. The same goes for almost all of the musicians who contributed.  

Eric, Mark and Mike released a climate-change single, “Searise,” on March 5th, 2021.  Soon after they released the “Searise” music video by Basque artist Joseba Elorza (Greenday).  Eric and Mark wrote “Searise” with Eric’s daughter, Evelyn, when she was only eleven.  

Eric and Mark released their twelve-song concept album, ‘American Bardo,’ on July 31, 2020.   American Bardo was recorded, produced and mixed by Mike Butler of San Diego.  All the songs were written by Eric and Mark and inspired by George Saunders’ Mann-Booker-Prize-winning novel, Lincoln in the Bardo.  All the songs on American Bardo are what Eric calls “readings” related to one or more of the characters in the novel. Popmatters listed American Bardo among their top fifty Americana albums of 2020.

Eric and Mark took sixteen songs into the studio.  The four songs on their EP, This Mortal Farce, were not directly related to one of the characters in Saunders’ novel, so they thought a separate EP would be a better way to release these four songs.  This Mortal Farce was Eric’s eleventh release (just counting EPs and LPs) and the duo’s fourth release.  

Eric got into writing and recording songs in the early 2000s when he met Mark at one of Mark’s shows and the two decided to collaborate on music. Eric then tried to make up for lost time by releasing three critically-acclaimed solo releases in four years: Not At One (2003), Songs for Wayward Days (2004), More Regrets (2005) and Tethered to the Ground (2006).  

In 2007, the duo’s song “So Wrong” from Tethered to the Ground was used in the Michael Schroeder film, Man in the Chair, starring Academy Award winner Christopher Plummer.  The song “Big World Abide” from Tethered to the Ground was used in TV shows: the Dutch soap opera Goede TijdenSlechte Tijden and the Courtney Cox TV show, Dirt.

Eric wrote the majority of the songs on these early releases with Mark and this would hold true for his 2011 solo release, Remains In Me, his “best of Eric Anders” retrospective Big World Abide in 2016, and his anti-Trump album Eleven Nine in 2017.  

As a duo, Eric and Mark would release Of All These Things in 2018 (their debut release as a duo), Ghosts To Ancestors in 2019 and American Bardo in 2020.  

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close