“Fantastic Machine” Is New Power-Pop Single From Elephant 6, Apples In Stereo Co-Founder Hilarie Sidney’s Band The High Water Marks

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By FANATIC*

Grøa, Norway | Lexington, KY | Denver, CO
“Fantastic Machine” is new power-pop single from Elephant 6, Apples In Stereo co-founder Hilarie Sidney’s band The High Water Marks.
“Fuzzy, psychedelic” cut is from second album in less than two years from Norway-based foursome. “Proclaimer of Things” dropped Feb. 4th.

The High Water Marks (L-R): Logan MillerHilarie SidneyPer Ole BratsetØystein Megård.

Photo credit: Self-Portraits, Illustration by Per Ole Bratset.


The High Water Marks | “Fantastic Machine”

[STREAM]: https://Fanatic.lnk.to/TheHighWaterMarks-FantasticMachine
The press calls The High Water Marks “pulse-raising mega-pop,” (UNCUT), with “sugar-coated melodies to spare” (Pitchfork), that offers “garage pop for the masses” (Paste).
The Proclaimer of Things album is the second full-length in just over a year from The High Water Marks, following a (too long!) 13-year hiatus. The Norway-based band fronted by Hilarie Sidney, the co-founder of the Elephant 6 Recording Co. and one of its core bands The Apples In Stereo, maintains and extends the high-energy fantastic fuzz of those sounds.
In its premiere coverage of “Fantastic Machine,” the latest single by The High Water Marks (featuring vocals by band member, Per Ole Bratset), Treble calls the tune “a fuzzy, psychedelic pop single with big hooks and swirling effects.”
Other music discovery sites coming in with coverage of “Fantastic Machine” include Austin Town HallIndie For BunniesDaggerHerzmukke and Buffablog.    
The High Water Marks
Proclaimer of Things
(Minty Fresh Records)
Feb. 4th, 2022

Track Listing:
01. The Best Day
02. Fantastic Machine (STREAM)
03. Jenny (STREAM | VIDEO)
04. I Told You Before
05. Fingers and Trees Are Only Temporary (STREAM)
06. Proclaimer of Things (STREAM | VIDEO)
07. Spectral Roommate
08. Origin of Names (STREAM)
09. Dust and Guitars
10. Devotee to The Chemist
11. Someones’s Song
12. Reason vs. Truth (STREAM)
13. We Are Going to Kentucky
The High Water Marks | 


“I am so lucky to have been a musician throughout my life,” says Hilarie Sidney, currently fronting The High Water Marks, and best known as co-founder of the revered musical collective Elephant Six and one of its three core bands The Apples In Stereo.
Based in her adopted home town of Grøa, Norway, Sidney and The High Water Marks released Proclaimer of Things, the band’s second album in just over a year, following-up the 2020 album Ecstasy Rhymes, its first album in 13 years.
Coming back after such a long stretch of being off the scene with a critically and commercially welcomed new album and then quickly coming in hot with another batch of 13 songs, isn’t an accident. In this case, it’s a coping mechanism.
With the United States reaching a milestone of 1 in 500 people having succumbed to COVID-19, it’s tragic news that this statistic hits home for Sidney. Her mother, half a world away, passed from the virus earlier last year.
“Not being able to see her and knowing that she was alone, dying in a nursing home, still haunts me daily,” Sidney courageously reveals.
Sidney knew that when she began to build a life in Norway with her band mate and husband Per Ole Bratset and their son, that she would be just a 12-hour flight from the rest of her family, but that 12 hours became something completely different under lockdown.
“I never factored in a pandemic,” she says. “At least my mom got to hear our record before she passed away. That means a lot to me because she was always really supportive of my music.”
The 13 songs that comprise Proclaimer of Things are just a drop in the bucket, considering how much Sidney has leaned on songwriting to take her mind off things.
“I feel like I can’t pick up the guitar without writing a little melody. As therapy, we decided to keep recording. We dove into the project to keep us sane, focused, and from going down the rabbit hole of depression and self-pity.”
Through it all, The High Water Marks made an album that is positive, light, happy, and meaningful.
“I think my mom would approve of my method of dealing with the grief of losing her.” Sidney says with trademark optimism.
Proclaimer of Things, the latest album by The High Water Marks, released on Feb. 4th, 2022 on Minty Fresh.







Minty Fresh

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close