Tommy Marz New EP ‘Chasing Light’ Out Now

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Press Here Publicity*

“[On ‘Stuck In The Middle With You’], Marz offers a gritty take where his howling vocals and creative instrumental ideas give this timeless nugget a 2020 shot in the arm.” – Glide Magazine 

Chasing Light has that ‘it’ factor quickly grabbing your attention. Singer/songwriters like Marz are a treasure to be cherished.” – Rock Titan TV 

“Marz’s influences merely invite the listener to explore the deeper meaning of his music…It’s clear Marz has a knack for song arrangement.” – Skope Magazine

 “Marz’s voice is definitely unique…he keeps the listener guessing.” – Indie Music Reviewer 

Seventy-One Trips Around The Sun is a masterpiece of songwriting, instrumentation and overall recording, producing, mixing and mastering.” – National Rock Review  

Los Angeles, CA – Detroit-based singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Tommy Marz released his new solo independent EP Chasing Light. PRESS HERE to listen. The six-song collection features five original tracks including Marz’s single “Summer Bummer,” along with his quarantine version of the Stealers Wheel classic “Stuck In The Middle With You.” 

“I’m excited to have this music finally available for everyone to hear!” shares Marz. “The build up to release day is always a combination of excitement and anxiety, so I’m ready for it to come out. I’m hoping fans can find a song or two to connect with!”

Though rooted in alt-rock, Chasing Light reveals a more singer-songwriter side to Marz, who found inspiration for the material from artists such as John Mayer and Harry Styles. All original tracks were written and produced by Marz, who also performs all of the instrumentation, with additional production from Jason Tucker. The EP, his first in over six years, opens with his version of “Stuck In The Middle With You,” which Marz felt compelled to record after feeling a sense of shock observing what’s going on in the world, specifically with cyber-bullying – PRESS HERE to watch the at-home music video. Elsewhere on Chasing Light is “Summer Bummer,” a mellow, anti-love song that touches upon feelings of loneliness, the personal “Stray,” written shortly after Marz’s dad passed away, and title track “Chasing Light,” which was inspired by a memorable trip to Las Vegas. PRESS HERE to watch the fan-filled music video for “Summer Bummer,” a commemorative sendoff to the abnormal summer of 2020. Full track listing for Chasing Light below. 

Tommy Marz first began his solo career in 2011 with a cover of George Michael’s “Faith” that took off after Michael tweeted the video to his followers. His debut original single “I Want You” was released in 2012 with his first solo album Play. Listen. Rewind. Repeat. issued in 2013. Tommy’s released a version of Puddle Of Mudd’s hit song “Blurry” in 2019 that features legendary 90s hip-hop/pop group P.M. Dawn. The multi-faceted artist, who’s been performing in bands since 2004, also fronted the eponymous Tommy Marz Band between 2012-2018. The alt-rock trio released two albums (Bringing Alpha [2015] and Seventy-One Trips Around The Sun [2018]), which both charted on the iTunes top 30 rock chart, toured alongside artists such as Fuel, Scott Stapp, The Dan Band and Scott Weiland and received media praise and support from the likes of National Rock Review, Elmore Magazine, All Access Music, Daytrotter, Skope Magazine and more. 

1.      Stuck In the Middle With You
2.      Lullaby Summer (Intro)
3.      Summer Bummer
4.      Chasing Light
5.      Stray
6.      Lady Magic
For more info on Tommy Marz visit:

Website // Twitter // Facebook // Instagram 

PRESS HERE to listen to an in-depth interview with Tommy Marz about Chasing Light

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close