Hanalei Releases ‘Black Snow’

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Part Time PR*

Hanalei Releases Black Snow

A-F Records has released Hanalei’s much-anticipated new album Black Snow. The album is currently streaming in its entirety at the A-F Records Bandcamp. The label has also released the album on vinyl. Black Snow is available on all digital providers now. 



I keep pinching myself to make sure I’m alive. Have we all been unknowingly transported into some cruel alternate universe where what was once confined to imagination has become reality? As I write this, California is burning and a pandemic is ravaging the globe. Police are murdering innocent people of color at-will, domestic terrorism is being thinly veiled as patriotism, facts and logic are ignored, a cartoonish, malevolent blob is nearing totalitarian control and love is lost. This can’t be real.

I began writing ‘Black Snow’ roughly two years after finding out my wife was pregnant. The process served as a means of coping with the relentless anxiety and bouts of depression that polluted my expected joy. How could I bring a child into a world on the verge of collapse?

The record is a non-linear, fictional collage, set in the not-so-distant future, following the destruction of our climate and the subsequent disintegration of modern society. The songs are primarily narrated from varying first person perspectives: the last standing bristlecone pine, a virus unearthed by fracking (this one was written a year before Covid hit and obviously feels eerily relevant now), the collective voice of animals subjected to human wrath, an estranged lover in a drought-parched Northern Californian landscape, a post-apocalyptic traveler who unearths a working smartphone, the self-serving climate change denier, a father and son choosing optimism and action over apathy and surrender, and so forth. Consider this a warning. Fiction is finding its way from far-flung to here and now.

John K. Samson, Craig Finn, Laura Stevenson, Kevin Devine

Release Date: 3/12/21
Label: A-F Records
Formats: Digital | Vinyl
Hanalei: Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram
A-F Records: Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Album Credits:
Brian Moss – Bass, Guitars, Keys, Vocals
Jerry Andersen (Daikon) – Drums
Josh Staples (The Velvet Teen/The New Trust) – Additional Vocals
Ryan Marshall (Great Apes) – Additional Vocals
Keeley Valentino – Additional Vocals

Produced, recorded, and mixed at home by Brian Moss
Drums were recorded by Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden
Mastered by Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden

Laura Lee Mattingly

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close