Title Track “Auburn” From Upcoming Motive Black Album Out Now

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Fly PR*


(Los Angeles, Calif.) – Motive Black fittingly set to drop title track, “Auburn,” from their debut full-length on Black Friday. Produced by Grammy-winner Nick Rowe (BloodsimpleVampire Weekend), the track digs deeper into the theme of the album.

Opening up about the central subject matter of her debut record with Motive Black, front woman Elana Justin says, “‘Auburn‘ is a song that means a lot to me. It means so much that I was almost hesitant to put it out. I lost my sister to her battle with addiction. She was one of the smartest women I will ever know. She was a straight-A student who aspired to be a doctor. Addiction does not discriminate. I am angry that she will never realize her dreams. This song is about loss, struggle, rage, but mostly, it’s about missing my sister and all of her potential. I will never laugh with anyone like I did with Mia. We need to end the stigma associated with addiction. People are meant to be loved, not judged. I miss Mia every day and I will for my whole life.”

Watch the new MOTIVE BLACK video for “Auburn” HERE:

The upcoming album is titled Auburn, which Justin says, “is named for my sister’s beautiful auburn-colored hair. Losing her forced me to reexamine my life and make significant changes. I went through a huge transitional period, which included both ugly and beautiful experiences. The album is a wild ride through that journey of anger, mania, deep love and self-discovery.”

In addition to the vocal prowess of vocalist Elana Justin, the album features Nick Rowe on guitar, bass and co-songwriting credits; drummer Ray Luzier (Korn) on six tracks; guitarist Marcos Curiel (P.O.D.) on the first single “Broken“; and “special guest” Carla Harvey of Butcher Babies on the song “Lift Me Up.” Harvey also co-starred in the video for that track and says, “I love collaborating with strong women on projects, so when I was asked to add my vocals to “Lift Me Up,” I happily obliged. The result…an infectious tune, a new found friendship…!”

Leah Brungardt at All Access has observed that “Los Angeles-based Motive Black is the creative phoenix born of singer Elana Justin’s pain, tenacity, and resilience.” Brave Words and Bloody Knuckles calls the band “grooving alternative rock” and “crushing modern metal” and says “Elana‘s both powerful and fragile charismatic voice gets deep.”

Auburn” was produced at the legendary NRG Studios in North Hollywood, Calif. by Grammy-winning Nick Rowe (Vampire WeekendLamb Of GodMadonnaSnoop Dogg) and mixed by Josh Wilbur (Lamb of GodKornPapa Roach). Motive Black will appeal to fans of Evanescence, DelainFollow The CypherThe Pretty RecklessHalestormNew Years DayIn This MomentShinedown

Auburn track listing:

1. “Lift Me Up” (feat. Carla Harvey)
2. “Broken” (feat. Ray Luzier, Marcos Curiel)
3. “Let Down”
4. “Bloodsport”
5. “Caged” (feat. Ray Luzier)
6. “Purge”
7. “Cellophane” (feat. Ray Luzier)
8. “Bad Decisions”
9. “Fake” (feat. Ray Luzier)
10. “Fight Alone” (feat. Ray Luzier)
11. “Auburn” (feat. Ray Luzier)

Pre-sale HERE.

Pre-save HERE.

Visit Motive Black online:


AFM Records Artist Page HERE.

IMDB for Elana Justin HERE.

Publicity photos by Jim Louvau.


AFM Records is a Rock/Metal record label, based in Hamburg, Germany. Founded in Schwalmstadt in 1996, the label’s roster has included iconic acts like U.D.O.DanzigDoroEvergreyTheatre Of TragedyFlotsam And JetsamAnvilCabin Boy Jumped Ship, BillyBioThundermother and DestructionMotive Black was signed to the label in 2020.  

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close