Melissa Weikart Shares Painterly, Narrative-Shifting New Single “Testing”

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Clandestine PR*

Melissa Weikart Shares Painterly, Narrative-Shifting New Single “Testing

Debut Album Here, There Out Now via Northern Spy Records

RIYL: Wendy Eisenberg, Charlotte Greve, Erik Satie, Fiona Apple, Regina Spektor
Genre: Avant-Pop, Indie, Contemporary Classical, Singer-Songwriter

“Melissa Weikart meticulously crafts compositions that often feel larger than herself—burgeoning with a chordal undertow that begets surprise when noting her soloist status. At her music’s center are her voice, itself a vehicle for pensive, twist-turn delivery and piano. Yet, these arrangements rarely feel stripped back or bare. The songs of which her debut album, Here, There are comprised are heady pieces full of emotional depth and heavy reflection” –PopMatters

“delightfully different to the massed guitar-wielding singer-songwriters. To create so much contrast and conflict with just her voice and a single instrument is a remarkable achievement, to do that and to also have something to say, well that’s the work of a very rare talent, one ready to make a huge splash.” –For The Rabbits

French-American vocalist, pianist, and composer Melissa Weikart shared “Testing,” the final single from her album Here, There released May 27, 2022 via Northern Spy Records.

On the track, Weikart shared the following insights: “‘Testing’ is the oldest song on the album, a song that remained unfinished for a very long time. When I first sat down to write it, I was contending with a lot of dominant narratives about what it meant to be an artist and a woman. I realized a lot of the damaging narratives around women who make art—they don’t write their own stuff; they don’t produce their own stuff; they have ghostwriters; etc—I was also internalizing these things and, at my worst moments, believing them about myself and others. I was so ashamed and angry with myself—angry that I couldn’t clear my head of these demons that kept me and others from writing freely and truthfully. So, ‘Testing’ was born when I sat down to shake these thoughts loose: to do a little spring cleaning about the truths I held to be objective. It’s a song about frustration, about being lost in the others’ narratives of you and not being able to hear yourself anymore because of them. And there’s also an important element of playfulness that helps counter all the heaviness and poke/have a little fun.”

WATCH: “Testing” (Official Visualizer) 

There are countless intimate, fret-noise-filled records from singer-guitarists across the history of modern popular music, but solo piano and voice releases remain a comparative rarity. It’s hard to imagine an artist better equipped to contribute to this canon than France-based singer, keyboardist, and composer Melissa Weikart. A conservatory-trained classical pianist and improviser, Weikart’s accompaniment on her debut album, Here, There, swells to catharses of orchestral proportions; it’s usually easy to forget this is the work of just one player. Here, adding additional instruments also might obscure some of this bold and playful record’s most compelling interplay: the way Weikart’s hands frequently seem to move out of correspondence with each other, reaching for conflicting rhythms and key areas.

Gestures like these carefully underscore the Paris-born but Boston-reared singer-songwriter’s fraught reflections on devotion, obsession and doubt, delivered naturalistically and matter-of-factly despite the complexity of the musical setting. Her piano parts lurch forward and get caught in dizzying loops as her narrators drift ahead of and behind themselves in moments of psychological crisis. She uses heavy chromaticism to dramatize their uneasy reflections, recalling the word painting of musical theater composers like Stephen Sondheim or luminaries of 20th-century classical art song: French composers of her current home country (Gabriel Fauré, Claude Debussy, Francis Poulenc) or, at more acerbic moments, American avant-gardists like Charles Ives

The songs on Here, There are primarily about grasping for connection and Weikart’s central melodies develop and warp like her narrators’ longing and frustration, progressing through uncanny harmonic worlds, taking on baggage with each reiteration. In the title track, her serpentine piano line and central vocal melody dramatize the physical exploration of another person—a feeling of losing track of where you end and they begin (“All I want is wrapped up/All I want is to be wrapped up in your arms”). Elsewhere, descriptions of fatigue and loss of control infect every element of the music: for instance, the queasy piano chords behind “searching for you makes me tired” and the sweeping waves of arpeggios on “come into the water.” Weikart often explores short lyrical mantras until their possibilities are totally exhausted; they degrade into disjunct syllables, losing context as the piano breaks down behind them.

For all the ambition and virtuosity of these compositions, Here, There is fundamentally a study in restraint. The songs seem to unfold spontaneously before they unravel; they drop the listener into the middle of moments of obsessive self-analysis. Often, the frustrated narrators seem in danger of spinning out into complete abstraction, lost in mental cul-de-sacs where coming to any kind of conclusion or finding redemption seems impossible. But Weikart keeps this frenetic energy well in hand, grounding these gorgeous and discomfiting songs with refrains with a pop appeal reminiscent of forebearers like Judee Sill and Fiona Apple. Weikart’s lyrical trajectories are always effortless to follow—palpable and sympathetic even in the context of music which makes a point of avoiding the familiar.

Stream and pre-order Here, There from Northern Spy Records here.

1. “Diamond”
2. “Here, There
3. “High Time”
4. “Ocean Song
5. “Testing
6. “Shiver”
7. “Who Made It”
8. “Happy”

Website – Instagram – Facebook – Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close