San Jose Pianist-Composer Peter Colclasure Presents Dreamy Minimalistic ‘Una Corda’ LP

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Shameless Promotion PR*

Peter Colclasure

Una Corda 

20 October 2020
San Jose pianist-composer Peter Colclasure presents dreamy minimalistic ‘Una Corda’ LP

Olafur Arnalds, Library Tapes, Max Richter, Philip Glass, Steve Reich, John Luther Adams, Arvo Pärt, Michael Nyman

FCC clean

Photos by Adam Pearl

“Manifesting a range of talent and dreamery. Serene, sometimes calming, sometimes narcotic and often instantly memorable. His diverse soundworld is reflected in his latest album – one created of passion and loving engagement and his third LP to date…. This music is cinematic and minimalistic, while still being accessible. No doubt he will connect beyond the margins of modernism to a much wider audience” Big Takeover Magazine

“Contains the complexity of classical with the laid-back poignancy of ambient music. Colclasure’s music feels simultaneously melancholy and hopeful as it weaves between ominous progressions and bright, transcendent movements, punctuated by perfectly placed notes” ~ The Metro (San Jose weekly)

Pianist and award-winning local composer Peter Colclasure presents his beautiful new cinematic album ‘Una Corda,’ consisting of 12 beautifully fluttering compositions.

Currently based in San Jose, California, Colclasure plays piano at the New Ballet School, formerly Silicon Valley Ballet, in addition to teaching at Evergreen Studio of Music and the Arts. In San Jose, he currently plays with several groups, including Cola, the Jean Jackets, the Rose Peddlers, and the Vanities. He occasionally performs with groundbreaking artist Cellista and visits Seattle to record and perform with the Foghorns.

This new long-play follows up Colclasure’s album ‘Long Form,’ released in February 2019 and debut solo instrumental release ‘Artigo,’ released the year before. His compositions have been used for choreography by the eMotion Arts dance troupe, the Memphis Ballet and Boise Ballet Academy.

“This music was written and recorded during the winter of 2019-20, innocent of a looming pandemic. I wanted to create something calm. When the shelter-in-place order hit in mid-March, I was just starting to mix the record — a process that involved hours of close listening on various speakers and headphones, as well as frequent midnight walks to my car parked down the street to sit in the dark with a notepad on the steering wheel, deciding whether to pan a particular sound to the left or adjust the reverb,” says Peter Colclasure.

“The transition from routine to quarantine was sudden and disorienting. The grocery store shelves were emptied; the streets were silent; and as weeks went by, time seemed to expand in every direction at once. “Una Corda” is a musical directive that indicates the use of the soft pedal. It’s when things go quiet.”

Written, performed, recorded and mixed by Colclasure on his laptop computer, this album was mastered by Kenny Schick at Basement3Production. His sound and esthetic are inspired by the works of Max Richter, Philip Glass and Steve Reich, as well as John Luther Adams and Arvo Pärt.

After graduating with a degree in piano performance from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2004, Peter Colclasure spent a decade touring, recording and performing with various rock bands. While living in Seattle from 2007 to 2012, he discovered ballet accompaniment. He has played for Dance Fremont, Spectrum and Evergreen Ballet, providing live music for dance rehearsals, as well as composing and arranging original music for choreography.

The ‘Una Corda’ album is now available online stores such as Apple Music and streaming platforms such as Spotify. It can also be obtained directly from the artist via Bandcamp.


Written & performed by Peter Colclasure
Cover photograph by Doran Bastin
Milhows – guitar on ‘Nur Wer Die Punkrock Kennt’
Mastered by Kenny Schick at Basement3Productions
Album design by Sabine Heusler-Schick


1. Una Corda 02:42
2. Etude 03:59
3. A Likely Carrington Event 03:21
4. Pavane 03:43
5. Architecture 03:35
6. Gardening 02:28
7. Slow Dancing Drunk To Satie 01:26
8. The Underdown 02:00
9. Plies For M 04:14
10. Sleeping Metal Giants Awake 01:39
11. Nur Wer Die Punkrock Kennt 04:19
12. Noah And The Waves 02:21

Keep up with Peter Colclasure

Website | Bandcamp | Facebook | Soundcloud YouTube | Instagram | Spofity | Apple Music 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close