The Pull Of Autumn Presents ‘The Stars Or The Jungle’ Off ‘Small Colors’ LP

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Shameless Promotion PR*

Promo cover art
The Pull of Autumn

The Stars of The Jungle 

RBM Records 
12 October 2020
The Pull of Autumn presents ‘The Stars or The Jungle’ off ‘Small Colors’ LP

Features Butterfly Child, Boyracer, Perfect Disaster, Insides, Seasurfer, Broken Little Sister, Orange Cake Mix, Epic 45

FOR FANS OF: Talking Heads, Roxy Music, Brian Eno, Popol Vuh, early Velvet Underground, LCD Soundsystem

FCC clean

Artist images by Matthew Darrow

“Such a gem – like the sonic lovechild of The Cars and Talking Heads with a contagiously frenetic Bowie-esque backdrop. This sound would not be out of place in any decade from the 80s until now. A genuine and welcome earworm” – Big Takeover Magazine

“Better to travel well than to arrive… this band is not about merely travelling, this is exploration down the unbeaten paths of the glorious unknown” – The Swindonian

“Beautiful… Pure and simple. Lyrically it is emotional and thought-provoking. It has perfect instrumentation and musicality. A great deal of care has gone into this” – Spill Magazine

“Impressive…  it’s a doozy you must hear. Just the perfect element of organized chaos in sonic form” – The Record Stache

Art rock collective The Pull of Autumn present the single ‘The Stars or The Jungle,’ off their ‘Small Colors’ LP, released via Boston’s RBM Records. Written by Bruce McLeod and originally recorded by him with Daniel Darrow, this version was re-imagined by Julian Tardo of 4AD artist Insides (and Church Road Studios) and bandmate Kristy Yates. The accompanying video is by Luke Skyscraper James of I.R.S. recording artist Fashion.

“This is a big one for me personally, as we became friends with Insides when we were touring England. Their two albums on 4AD Records are post-rock classics,” says Pull of Autumn mastermind Daniel Darrow.

The collective’s third album is a tribute to many moods, ranging from British folk music and post-rock to jazz, ambient and electronic music. The album’s title represents a return to a minimalist approach towards creating music.

This long-play involves members of 4AD artists Dif Juz, Rough Trade artists Johanna’s House of Glamour and Butterfly Child, Epic 45, Boyracer, Perfect Disaster, Insides, Germany’s Seasurfer, Japan’s Broken Little SisterOrange Cake Mix, vocalists Mina Hunt and Jeanne BattingColin Darrow and Matthew Darrow.

Based between Boston and Rhode Island, The Pull of Autumn is a ‘super group’ of sorts, with songs orbiting around Daniel Darrow from Johanna’s House of Glamour and Luke ‘Skyscraper’ James (Fashion), but also involves numerous emerging and notable musicians from the local music scene and from far abroad.

“Many artists reached out to contribute to make this album a full range of interpretations of sound. It’s thrilling to have all these amazing artists join together to create 16 songs that a channel the same voice – A love of creating beauty, even in these difficult times,” says Daniel Darrow.

Earlier, The Pull of Autumn teased several singles from the album, including ‘Holiday’ featuring Orange Cake Mix (a.k.a. James Rao) and ‘Shipwrecked on Aspirin’ featuring Luke ‘Skyscraper’ James, frontman of British new wave pioneers (and I.R.S. recording artist) Fashion.

The first is as Bee Gees‘ track, recorded as a tribute to the 60s with an added electronic element, melding 60s pop into today’s post-rock movement. ‘Shipwrecked on Aspirin’ harkens to post-punk of the past with the introduction of electronic music added in, much in the spirit of Brian Eno’s work with Roxy Music.  

This album follows the 2019 ‘Afterglow’ LP, which involved members of Throwing Muses, Boyracer, Seasurfer, Orange Cake Mix, Johanna’s House of Glamour, Hood and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, and the debut album ‘The Pull of Autumn’ (2018).

The ‘Small Colors’ LP is out now digitally everywhere, including Apple Music and Spotify. It is also available online directly from the band, as well as on CD (packaged in a gatefold 7-inch sleeve) via Bandcamp. The album cover painting by Joyce Raskin White.


1. Bakhchalarda
2. Easy
3. No Romance
4. Fester
5. That’s How it’s Always Been
6. The Stars or the Jungle
7. Holiday
8. Lampin
9. The Beautiful Golden Y
10. The Sun Is Going to Shine
11. Bored and Lonely
12. If You Could Read My Mind
13. Shipwrecked on Aspirin
14. Delirious Intuition
15. Color
16. No Day at the Beach

Keep Up With The Pull of Autumn / RBM Records
Bandcamp | Soundcloud | RBM Records | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Spotify | Apple Music 
 Promo image

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close