New York Philharmonic Presents Works By John Adams, Anthony Davis And Missy Mazzoli

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By NY Philharmonic*

New York Philharmonic News

New York Philharmonic Presents Works by John Adams, Anthony Davis and Missy Mazzoli

Conductor Dalia Stasevska in Her Philharmonic Debut

October 20–23, 2021

Principal Clarinet Anthony McGill
Photo: Chris Lee

Finnish conductor Dalia Stasevska makes her New York Philharmonic debut, October 20–23, 2021, at Alice Tully Hall, leading works by three living American composers: John Adams, Anthony Davis and Missy Mazzoli. 

Principal Clarinet Anthony McGill performs the semi-improvisatory solo part in Anthony Davis’s You Have the Right To Remain Silent. Commissioned by the Miller Theatre at Columbia University in 2010 and receiving its Philharmonic premiere on this program, the work is Davis’s autobiographical depiction of a “driving while Black” encounter with the police in the 1970s. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close