Pennies By The Pound Present Classic/Psych-Rock-Imbued ‘Indigo Screams’ Ahead Of New LP, Mastered By Ride’s Mark Gardener

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Shameless Promotion PR*

Promo cover artPennies By The Pound

‘Indigo Screams’ single out now.

Full LP coming 


21 May 2021
Pennies By The Pound present classic/psych-rock-imbued ‘Indigo Screams’ ahead of new LP, mastered by Ride’s Mark Gardener

 Bob Mould, And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Marillion, Jethro Tull, Steven Wilson, Marty Willson-Piper, Guided By Voices, The Persian Leaps

FCC clean

Photos by Raisa Krogerus, except beach photo by Tommi Elkholm 

“Pennies By The Pound have more in common with 60s psych-driven rock and 80s American college rock than with their Fenno-Scandian peers. Such a big and extravagant classic psychedelic rock. Wherever they may draw their influences from, one thing is for sure: this is brilliant music for here and now, wherever that may be” ~ Big Takeover Magazine

“And then there’s special cases like Susitaival, who will forever mentally remain as a 90’s teenager, regardless of how the world changes or how one’s body might age” Niko Peltonen (Soundi)

“A trippy ride that recalls the familiar vibes and sounds of none other than Bob Mould, The Church / Marty Willson-Piper, Marillion and Jethro Tull. Yes, all of them and yes, this is actually possible. Loads of flair and professionalism from the band” Amplify Music Magazine

Finnish indie rockers Pennies By The Pound have announced they will release their new album ‘Heat Death of the Universe’ on May 21 via Lilith Records. Ahead of this, they present lead track ‘Indigo Screams, along with accompanying lyrics video.

Mastered by Ride frontman Mark Gardener at his OX4Sound Studio near Oxford, this long-player was produced, recorded and mixed by Rauli ‘Rake’ Eskolin, a very achieved Finnish producer who has worked on over a dozen No. 1 records in Finland in the past 20 years.

“Lyrically, there is a loose theme on the album about the way people continue to actually socially distance themselves from others (even without or before the pandemic) due to the influence of social media and maybe the internet in general. The album title is a nod to that, the “heat death of the universe” being the lack of and eventual end of real-life social connections between people,” says Johannes Susitaival.

Hailing from Helsinki, Pennies by the Pound was formed in 2016 by Johannes Susitaival as a solo project, but it quickly became a three-piece involving musicians from his past bands.

While still part of a punk rock band, Johannes began exploring some quite different musical avenues, which led to the self-produced ‘Bloodshed and the Blinding Sunlight’ EP in 2018. Having found their ideal producer after several years of searching, they began recording demos in 2019 for what would become this album. Due to the pandemic, they were finally able to record these tracks in Autumn of 2020.

Pennies By The Pound’s sound blends ’80s prog rock and ’90s-early ’00s alternative rock – essentially heavily guitar-driven with a touch of keyboards… Big choruses, quite a few guitar and keyboard solos and grandiose arrangements.

“This album is rooted in the fact that I became heavily interested in ’80s Marillion a few years ago, especially the ‘Clutching at Straws’ LP. You can definitely hear the influence on the record, but there’s a lot of ’80s Rush too, spiced up with contemporary influences like Muse and Radiohead. As an artist, I’ve always been hesitant to make records that sound the same as the previous ones I’ve done, so the sound keeps evolving,” says Johannes Susitaival.

“I wanted to make a record that is borderline ridiculous, in some ways, and definitely not very contemporary. Then again, for the first time in my life, I had a chance to work with a producer, whose work I have admired since the turn of the millennium and this definitely influenced the album and its sound.”

‘Indigo Screams’ is out now, available everywhere digitally, including Apple Music and Spotify. The full ‘Heat Death of the Universe’ album will be released on May 21 and can already be ordered via Bandcamp.

01. The Waters
02. Strange Matter
03. Strange Stars (Lies Closer To Truth Than Beauty)
04. 139
05. Indigo Screams
06. San Francisco Skyline
07. Heat Death

Johannes Susitaival – vocals, drums, keyboards, rhythm guitar
Vesa Ranta – lead guitar, rhythm guitar
Tomi Laaksonen – bass guitar
Alexander Meaney – additional lead guitar
Written by Johannes Susitaival and Mikko Maksimainen
Arrangements by Pennies by the Pound and Rauli Eskolin
Produced, recorded and mixed by Rauli “Rake” Eskolin
Recorded at E-Studio, Sipoo, Finland and Soundtrack Studio, Porvoo, Finland
Mastered by Mark Gardener in OX4 Sound near Oxford

Keep up with Pennies By The Pound
Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram | Twitter | Soundcloud | Apple Music | Spotify 

Keep up with Mark Gardener / OX4 Sound
Website | Facebook | Bandcamp | Soundcloud | OX4Sound Twitter | Mark Gardener Twitter | Instagram | YouTube 
Promo image

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close