Brighton’s Nick Hudson (The Academy Of Sun) To Release ‘Font Of Human Fractures’ LP

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Shameless Promotion PR*

Promo cover artNick Hudson

Font of Human Fractures 

30 April 2021
FOR FANS OF: Coil, Kate Bush, Laibach, Danny Elfman, Nico, Scott Walker, Nick Cave, These New Puritans, Eric Satie, Robert Wyatt

FCC clean

Solo photos by Wolfgang Dubieniec. Nick Hudson/Toby Driver photos by Dominique Wirth

“Nick Hudson is a unique talent. His songwriting and performances are breathtaking. He is long overdue being heard by a wider audience. This solo album is a peak in an already stellar career” ~ Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwai)

“Scott Walker channeling Coil” ~ MOJO Magazine

“Surreal and spacey… Eerie and wonderful, with great depth” The Spill Magazine

“The intimacy of a musical diary as well as an epic theatrical fascination… thrilling tension between its thematic juxtapositions and arrangements of diverse acoustic, electric, and synthetic instrumentation” ~ No Ripcord

“Genius” – BBC Radio (BBC Introducing)

“A song-suite of liberation, violence and ambition that is rich in promise and dizzying in its potential” ~ The Quietus 

“Highly melodic and cutting-edge pop experimentalism” ~ Amplify Music Magazine

Brighton-based singer-songwriter Nick Hudson presents his new album Font of Human Fractures,’ a neo-classical record with electronic undertones that is a kaleidoscopic and emotionally transparent document of the search for self-worth – and ultimately love – in a thorny, unevenly-stacked world. 

Hudson’s first album in five years, it was recorded and mastered at Church Road Studios by Paul Pascoe (Barry Adamson, Beat Hotel), this 10-track offering is Hudson’s first solo studio LP since ‘Ganymede In A State Of War’ (2016).

Scored almost entirely for piano and two violins, this new release is a ruminative melting pot from the point of view of a queer man in his late thirties. It sees him converse with younger versions of himself, negotiating himself free of toxic programming and banishing the inhibitions that can blight, dull and impotize the best of us.  

The centrepiece ‘Surkov’s Dream’ is a seven-minute requiem for legendary Italian homosexual Marxist filmmaker, poet and essayist Pier Paolo Pasolini – written from the perspective of the Alfa Romeo implicated in the artist’s controversial murder. It features a MIDI instrument constructed from samples of bass pedals from the vast church organ of St Mary’s Brighton.

Other highlights include ‘There is No Such Thing as You’ and ‘Tokyo Nights,’ a song originally written and performed by Nick’s aunt Mae Fortune with her Banshees-esque 80s post-punk group and John Peel fave Room 101‘Teenage Hudson Summons Epona’ featured a short instrumental salvaged from a cassette of fantasy music recorded when Nick was 16 – a literal dialogue with Nick’s teenage self. 

Several weeks ago, Hudson released the Come Back When There’s Nothing Left’ EP, a three-track collection entailing a double A-side and a unique take on Oingo Boingo’s ‘Not My Slave’ as the B-side. The lead track features vocals by Toby Driver of legendary NYC avant-garde group Kayo Dot in a haunting meditation on taking responsibility for one’s one spiritual housekeeping – whilst also celebrating the work of queer horror maestro Clive Barker. The stunning accompanying video was directed by acclaimed Scottish novelist Ewan Morrison.

Nick Hudson is a prolific figure on the UK underground music scene and is perhaps best known as frontman of art-rock band The Academy Of Sun, who released their dystopian epic ‘The Quiet Earth’ last year to critical acclaim. Apart from music, Nick’s vast output also encompasses painting, film and he has just completed his first novel.

Hudson has also collaborated with Wayne Hussey (The Mission) and Matthew Seligman (Bowie, Tori Amos, Morrissey), as well as members of NYC’s Kayo Dot, David Tibet (Current 93), Asva and Canadian queercore icon GB Jones. As The Academy Of Sun, he has also collaborated with Massive Attack’s Shara Nelson. Having toured three continents, highlights include appearances with Mogwai, Toby Driver and Keith Abrams of Kayo Dot and Timba Harris (Mr Bungle, Amanda Palmer).

As of April 30, the ‘Font of Human Fractures’ album will be available on vinyl and digitally via Spotify and Apple MusicBoth are also available directly from the artist via Bandcamp

1. Surkov’s Dream
2. Voyeurs Who Offer Nothing
3. Matryoshka
4. Tokyo Nights
5. The Ballad Of K6996 Roma
6. Teenage Hudson Summons Epona
7. Come Back When There’s Nothing Left
8. There Is No Such Thing As You
9. Dambala
10. End Credits

Keep up with Nick Hudson / The Academy of Sun
Facebook | Bandcamp | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify | Apple Music 
Promo image

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close