The Dead Betties Release New Compilation Album ‘Killer Hits No Filler’

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By The Dead Betties*

As previously announced via Brooklyn Vegan, The Dead Betties have released a new compilation album entitled ‘Killer Hits No Filler,’ which features their back catalogue, now available for streaming.

One of the songs on it is “Malls Of The Midwest” from the 2007 album ‘Nightmare Sequence.’ (Cordless/Warner), which you can check out above.

In regards to the release, the band had this to say:

“The Dead Betties was a band devoted to reflecting both horror and beauty at the same time, through noise. We primarily wrote ballads and shrouded them in massive soundscapes. We were on a mission to brazenly challenge the status quo and turn intimate personal feelings into political statements. We wanted to represent the most quiet and secret sides of ourselves in the loudest, most dissonant ways possible. We formed 20 years ago, as teenagers and we are releasing this collection to commemorate our time together as artists and celebrate the music we made.”

About The Dead Betties:

The Dead Betties. Active from 2000 through 2014, The Dead Betties toured extensively and released music on punk icon Donna Dresch’s Chainsaw Records, Cordless and Warner Music. The Dead Betties had videos in rotation on MTV and VH1, the band was a subject of David Ciminelli’s book, “The Loud and Raucous Rise of Queer Rock” and twice co-headlined Olympia’s notorious Homo-a-gogo festival. Frontman Joshua Ackley went on to become the center of attacks from conservative journalists for his role as Vice President of Communications at Girl Scouts of the USA., Bill O’Reilly, The Daily Mail and countless other conservative outlets deemed him an inappropriate employee for Girl Scouts on an account of his sexuality and involvement in punk bands, alleging he contributed to the leftist and homosexual indoctrination of children (the “gay agenda”). Despite the controversy, he stayed at Girl Scouts until 2019. He was the co-leader of rock band, Teen Vice, with the legendary Tammy Hart. In 2017, Teen Vice released their debut album, “Saddest Summer” (Commission/BMG Records), to widespread acclaim.


Joshua Ackley

Derek Pippin

Eric Shepherd

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close