Atlanta-Based Indie Pop Darlings I Am A Rocketship Release ‘Ghost Stories’ LP

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Shameless Promotion PR* 

Promo cover art I Am a Rocketship
Ghost Stories
My Long Wknd
30 April 2020
Atlanta-based indie pop darlings I Am a Rocketship release ‘Ghost Stories’ LP

FOR FANS OF: The Ting Tings, Feral Five, Phantogram, Garbage, Curve, The Kills, Failure
Grass photo by Gaya Ramachandran. Wall photo by Katja Bjorn

“A driving track with a catchy melody and clever wording about what seems to be a passive-aggressive relationship with a potentially dangerous / unstable friendemy…. a winding guitar line grit and punchy drum hits”Big Takeover Magazine

“A unique combination of slow harmony and sonic dissonance… a blend pleasing to the ears and compelling to the heart… Brilliant” Jammerzine

Atlanta-based indie pop duo I Am a Rocketship present their third album ‘Ghost Stories’,  a rich collection of eleven songs triangulating electronica, rock and pop and ranging from noisy sample-based instrumentals to somber ballads. Ahead of that, they presented the first menacing single ‘My Nature’.

I Am a Rocketship is an American-Swedish duo comprised of Eric Weissinger and L E Kippner. Their music draws from memories of 80s pop, hip-hop overheard on Atlanta streets, Bernard Hermann soundtracks, and Neue Deutsche Härte to make bedroom pop with an edge.

I Am a Rocketship merges cool Scandinavian vocals, pop hooks and a dash of experimenting. Layering dark lyricism and fuzz guitars over pop grooves, they create a notably attractive hybrid sound. They write, record and create art and videos without other contributors, capturing this new album on a notebook computer in various locations over the course a year.

The new album follows up their sophomore offering ‘Mind Grafitti’, released in 2019 and featuring lead single ‘Face Off’, influenced by Led Zeppelin’s album ‘Physical Graffiti’, and a distinctive cover of Rammstein’s classic ‘Du Hast’. They released their debut long-play ‘Mission Control’ in 2016.

The title track ‘Ghost Stories’ sprang into fully formed existence when Eric first played a 70-year-old guitar. This spirit of letting ideas emerge without trying to conform to any style led to the creation of the rest of the album. Lyrics and instrumentation were chosen quickly and by instinct, leading to a collection of music that can be jarring but rewarding.

“This wasn’t intended to be an album. We were going to do an EP of a few songs we’d played live, but then I got this guitar, a 1949 Gibson, and the song Ghost Stories just poured out, completely written. We both fell into this groove of coming up with new song ideas, so that we ended up having to cut material for the album. It was an incredibly loose and easy album to make, but it’s not disciplined or planned,” says Eric Weissinger.

A journeyman bassist and guitarist backing up various artists and opening for bands such as The Wedding Present, The Black Crowes, James, Cracker and Portastatic, everything changed for Eric Weissinger thanks to a chance meeting with L E Kippner – cellist, scientist, radio DJ and singer for Swedish synth-pop duo Neobox. At first forming Hitchcock Blondes in Ohio, they relocated to Atlanta to try new ideas as I Am a Rocketship, for which they have been receiving quite favorable international press and radio play.

The full ‘Ghost Stories’ LP is now available everywhere digitally, including Spotify, as well as on CD, via the band’s own My Long Wknd imprint. It can be ordered directly from the artist via Bandcamp.

01. False Impressions
02. My Nature
03. Ghost Stories
04. Come Along
05. Crush
06. Resolve
07. Give
08. Walk With Me
09. Five Points
10. You’re My Angel
11. The Spectacle

Keep up with I Am a Rocketship
Website | Bandcamp | Facebook | Soundcloud | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify | iTunes
Promo image

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close