Lauren Records Releases New Single “Learning Curve” From Diners’ ‘Leisure World’

*The Following Press Release Was Issued By Hit Points Media*

Lauren Records Releases New Single from Diners “Leisure World”

Lauren Records recently announced the new LP from Diners and they have unveiled a new single called “Learning Curve.”
Listen to Diners “Learning Curve” Spotify / Apple / Bandcamp

Leisure World
 (out April 24th) is the latest album from singer-songwriter Tyler Blue Broderick, who performs with the project Diners. Not only is it the most eclectic and ambitious album in the songwriter’s (already muscular) catalog to date—it’s one of the catchiest, most realized indie pop records released in years.

“Learning Curve is a song about trying your best and not beating yourself up when you make mistakes.” Says Broderick, adding “It’s also about patience and gratitude! After a confusing period of writer’s block and feeling like I was asking too much of my creative capabilities, Learning Curve came to me in a way that helped me rebuild and maintain my friendship with music. Leisure World found it’s direction and personality with Learning Curve too.”

Like all of their work, Leisure World—which Broderick scrapped and rerecorded several times before landing on an aesthetic they found satisfactory—draws on the most enduring aspects of pop’s past. Its 13 tracks bring to mind the technicolored melodies of ‘60s pop icons like the Beatles and Zombies, the chilled-out pop proficiency of Laurel Canyon legends like Carole King, and the wry, observational story-telling of Jonathan Richman, and, to cite a more recent artist, Jens Lekman.

But Leisure World isn’t merely a puree of a record store clerk archetype’s most coveted possessions; like all the best pop music, it gleefully somersaults across the bridge connecting the past and future, and much of Broderick’s instrumentation and lyrics feel planted firmly in the present. These are bite-sized, mid-fi symphonies replete with glorious Omichord sweeps, second-hand synths, and layers of sun-kissed vocal harmony.

Leisure World arrives at a somewhat tumultuous time in Broderick’s life. Originally from Phoenix, Broderick briefly relocated to Los Angeles, before settling in Oakland this past summer. The record was recorded amidst relentless DIY tours and shows with Diners and a bulk of side gigs, including Broderick’s commitments to the Ned Flanders metal band Okilly Dokilly and songwriting collaborations with artists like Chris Farren. (The co-written “Space In Yr Love” recently surfaced on Farren’s latest solo album, Born Hot.)

Despite that, Leisure World is a not a cynical or even tired-sounding record. This is maybe best exemplified by the album’s penultimate track, “Thanks For Listening,” which is gobsmacking in its warmth and earnestness. Performed by anyone other than Diners, “Thanks For Listening”—which the band closed every show with when I toured with them this past spring—would scan sardonic. But I can say with almost complete certainty that Tyler is being serious, which is a beautiful thing. They love the attention, but they also realize they’d be nothing without the people who love them and their music.

“Leisure World” Tracklist:

        1) Leisure World
        2) Think on this Feeling
        3) Learning Curve
        4) Big Times
        5) Cup of Coffee
        6) Big Moon
        7) So Blue
        8) Sending My Love
        9) There’s a Time
        10) Spinning the Yarn
        11) Phone TV World
        12) “Tube Town” by Cylinder City
        13) Thanks For Listening

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close